The applications

I – Context

The Exp'Air system has been under trial for 3 years at AR2i in conjunction with the Multidisciplinary Functional Testing Department of the Antoine Béclère Hospital in Clamart (Paris region).

The Exp'Air system is an original medical device enabling non-invasive and reproducible collection of the volatile substances contained in the alveolar fraction of expired air.

As a result of these trials, several hypotheses have seen the light regarding the role of certain halogenated alkanes, particularly chlorofluoroalkanes, in the regulatory mechanisms of oxidative stress.

The presence of chlorofluoroalkanes in expired air, trichlorotrifluoroethane in particular, has already been documented.

II – Trials

The increase in the proportion of chlorofluoroalkanes in the expired air was observed by chance in subjects placed under various conditions known to generate oxidative stress:

  • Moderate physical effort
  • Intense physical effort
  • Cigarette smoking
  • Mental effort
  • Apnoea

In each case studied, samples were taken before and after applying the stress factor.

The level of chlorofluoroalkanes (3 chemical species were detected) increased in proportion with the intensity of the stress applied (5 to 100 times the initial level). The response to the stress is very rapid (5 – 10 minutes) and short-lived: the levels return to normal within 30 minutes to 2 hours, depending on the intensity of the stress inflicted.

To date, the chemical species that have been identified are:

  • Trichlorotrifluoroethane
  • Dichlorodifluoromethane
  • Tetrafluoroethane

III – Interpretation

  • As with nitric oxide (NO), originally known as EDRF (Endothelial Derived Releasing Factor), the effects of the molecules were highlighted before the metabolic origin was determined. The endogenous origin of these chlorofluoroalkanes was confirmed through sampling and analysis under various environmental conditions.
  • The predominant species, trichlorofluoroethane (TCFE), was tested in vitro on the mitochondrial respiratory chain: this substance was shown to inhibit the respiratory chain.
  • It is known that halogenoalkanes play a role in redox mechanisms. Bromoalkanes and halons, in particular, are used as fire-extinguishers; they block the free radicals produced by the flame and thus reduce the amount of energy released and stop the fire from spreading.

Today, the following hypotheses exist:

  • Chlorofluoroalkanes are early markers of oxidative stress.
  • They are generated by the body in order to reduce the production of the free radicals responsible for oxidative stress damage (lipid peroxidation, cell and mitochondrial membrane lesions, attacks on DNA, etc.).
  • They act as "biological extinguishers", partly because they reduce the activity of the respiratory chain, and partly because they chemically block the oxygen free radicals (ROS), thus stopping the radical reaction.
  • Their action is short-lived and is evidence of "acute" oxidative stress. As an example, the increase in the level of chlorofluoroalkanes in the expired air after intense physical effort is explained as follows:

- An intense physical effort engenders both an increased need for oxygen and a rise in blood CO2 (hypercapnia), whence metabolic acidosis.
- It is known that the need for oxygen is outweighed by the need to eliminate CO2  to fight against acidosis: hyperventilation following physical effort is therefore a reflex mechanism intended to eliminate the CO2.
- As a consequence, the elimination of CO2 by means of hyperventilation is accompanied by an excess of oxygen caused by this very hyperventilation.
- The excess of oxygen tends to lead to over-activity of the mitochondrial respiratory chain which generates ROS and thus oxidative stress.
- It is therefore logical that the body should produce chlorofluoroalkanes in these conditions, since their action will reduce the effects of oxidative stress following intense physical effort.

  • Inversely, the more persistent, unhalogenated alkanes are biological markers of "chronic" and repeated stress, when the body's ability to resist reaches its capacity (continual or repeated stress, insufficient metabolic antioxidant potential).
  • In summary, if we were to compare oxidative stress to a fire, the chlorofluoroalkanes are the "fire extinguishers" and the alkanes are the "ashes" of the fire, since it is known that these compounds are produced by lipid peroxidation (the effects of the fire).

 

 

 
original template joomla

Les applications d''EXP'AIR®

I – Contexte

Des expérimentations du système Exp’Air ont été menées depuis 3 ans par AR2i, en relation avec le Service d’Explorations Fonctionnelles Multi-Disciplinaires de l’hôpital Antoine Béclère (92 – Clamart).

Le système Exp’Air est un dispositif médical original permettant le recueil non invasif et reproductible des substances volatiles contenues dans la fraction alvéolaire de l’air d’expiration.

Ces essais ont conduit à émettre un certain nombre d’hypothèses sur le rôle de certains alcanes halogénés, en particulier les chlorofluoroalcanes, dans les mécanismes régulateurs du stress oxydant.

La présence de chlorofluoroalcanes, en particulier le trichlorotrifluoroéthane, dans l’air expiré a déjà été décrite dans la littérature.

II – Essais

Il a été observé, de manière fortuite, l’augmentation des taux de chlorofluoroalcanes dans l’air expiré chez des sujets ayant été placés dans des conditions diverses connues comme générant un stress oxydant :

  • Effort physique modéré
  • Effort physique intense
  • Cigarette
  • Effort mental
  • Apnée

Dans chacun des cas étudiés, les prélèvements ont été réalisés avant et après mise en condition de stress.

Il a été constaté l’augmentation des taux de chlorofluoroalcanes (3 espèces chimiques détectées), proportionnellement à l’intensité du stress appliqué (de 5 à 100 fois le taux initial). La réponse au stress est très rapide (5 – 10 minutes), et peu rémanente : les taux reviennent à l’état de base en 30 minutes – 2 heures, selon l’intensité du stress subi.

Les espèces chimiques identifiées à ce jour sont :

  • Trichloro-trifluoro-éthane
  • Dichloro-difluoro-méthane
  • Tétrafluoro-éthane

III – Interprétation

  • A l’instar du monoxyde d’azote (NO), dénommé initialement EDRF (Endothelial Derivide Releasing Factor), les effets de(s) la molécule(s) ont été mis en évidence avant d’en déterminer l’origine métabolique. L’origine endogène de ces chlorofluoroalcanes a été vérifiée en se plaçant dans diverses conditions ambiantes de prélèvement et d’analyse.
  • L’espèce majoritaire, trichlorofluoroéthane (TCFE), a été testée in vitro sur la chaîne respiratoire mitochondriale : ce produit s’est avéré inhibiteur de la chaîne respiratoire.
  • Il est connu que les halogéno-alcanes interviennent dans les mécanismes d’oxydo-réduction : en particulier, les bromo-alcanes ou Halons sont utilisés comme extincteurs d’incendies, en agissant par blocage des radicaux libres émis par la flamme (phase de terminaison), réduisant ainsi l’énergie dégagée et donc la propagation de l’incendie.

Aujourd’hui, les hypothèses suivantes sont avancées :

  • Les chlorofluoroalcanes sont des marqueurs précoces du stress oxydatif.
  • Ils sont générés par l’organisme afin de réduire la production de radicaux libres responsables des dommages liés au stress oxydant (peroxydation lipidique, lésions des membranes cellulaires et mitochondriales, attaques de l’ADN, etc …).
  • Ils agissent tels des « extincteurs biologiques», d’une part en réduisant l’activité de la chaîne respiratoire, d’autre part en bloquant chimiquement les radicaux libres oxygénés (ROS), interrompant ainsi la réaction radicalaire.
  • Leur action est fugace, et témoigne d’un stress oxydant « aigu ». A titre d’exemple, l’élévation de leur taux dans l’air expiré après un effort physique intense est expliqué comme suit :

- Un effort physique intense entraîne à la fois un besoin accru d’oxygène et une augmentation du CO2 circulant (hypercapnie), d’où une acidose métabolique.

- Or, il est connu que le besoin en oxygène est inférieur à la nécessité d’éliminer le COpour lutter contre l’acidose : l’hyperventilation consécutive à un effort physique est donc un mécanisme réflexe visant à éliminer le CO2.

- La conséquence est que l’élimination du CO2 grâce à l’hyperventilation s’accompagne d’un excès d’oxygène dû à cette même hyperventilation.

- L’excès d’oxygène a tendance alors à provoquer un « emballement » de la chaîne respiratoire mitochondriale, générateur de ROS et donc de stress oxydant.

- Il est donc logique que l’organisme génère dans ces conditions les chlorofluoroalcanes, dont l’action va permettre de réduire les effets du stress oxydant produit après un effort physique intense.

  • A l’inverse, les alcanes non halogénés, plus rémanents, sont des marqueurs biologiques d’un stress plutôt « chronique » et répété, quand les capacités de résistance de l’organisme sont dépassées (stress continu ou itératif, déficit du potentiel anti-oxydant métabolique).
  • En résumé, si l’on compare le stress oxydant à un incendie, les chlorofluoroalcanes interviennent en premier recours pour « éteindre l’incendie », les alcanes représentant alors les « cendres » de l’incendie, puisqu’il est reconnu que ces composés sont issus de la peroxydation lipidique, c’est à dire des effets de l’incendie.

A télécharger : Intervention de Eric Postaire à l'Académie nationale de Pharmacie

A télécharger : Publication dans les Annales Pharmaceutiques Françaises (2013) 71, 203-215

 
original template joomla